LAVA – 1980-2023 - 11CD Box - 2023 - CCD080

Sale price1.100,00 kr


LAVA – 1980-2023

11CD BOX – CCD080

1100,- NOK

Artist: Ketil Bjørnstad

Release year: 2023

Label: C+C Records

Format: 11 CDs + booklet 60 pages

Category: Pop/rock/jazz/west coast/AOR


Lava started in Årdal in 1977. Drummer Per Hillestad and guitarist Svein Dag Hauge joined Kjell Hestetun on bass and Stein Eriksen on keys and, voila, the biggest AOR and west coast success in Norwegian history was a fact. Their big breakthrough in Norway came after the band's performance at Vossajazz in 1978. This was at a time when the whole world was playing jazzy pop music, except here on the mountain. In 1983, Randy Crawford was introduced to Lava for the first time. She was one of the great soul stars of the late 70s and into the eighties. This was the start of a long-standing collaboration. Lava made their album debut in 1980 with the album Lava and, in parallel with their own career, has competed, played on and produced an impressive number of records with everything from Tom Mathisen, Trond Granlund, Marius Müller, Olav Stedje, Gudny Aspaas, Anita Skorgan, Trond Viggo, Dollie, Prima Vera, Alex, Stein Ove Berg, Ketil Stokkan and Jannicke - just to name a few. They were nominated for Spellemann for the album Prime Time in 1982, before they finally (deservedly) won with the album Fire in 1984. Lava has housed a number of fantastic musicians and they have lasted an impressive 45 years - in one form or another. Young Johnny Sjo fills Rolf Graf's enormous bass shoes and Sigurd Køhn has been replaced by Kåre Kolve. Marius Müller also visited for many years, as an associate member. Interest in the band only grows and grows and their records sell five figures abroad. Now their entire career will be collected in a beautiful box, designed by Trine + Kim Design Studio.

Liner notes are written by Europe's biggest Lava enthusiast and connoisseur, Swedish Mikael Engström.
The box contains their brand new album X, which will be released on vinyl in the summer of 2023. The record will contain 11 brand new songs.


The album contains the following CDs: 
CD1 Lava 1980
CD2 Cruisin 1981
CD3 Prime Time 1982
CD4 Fire 1984
CD5 The Rhythm Of Love 1990
CD6 Polarity 2003
CD7 Alibi 2005
CD8 Symphonic Journey 2009
CD9 Water 2019
CD10 X 2023
CD11 Bonus Disc (live, alternate takes, remixes, unreleased tracks and songs from compilations).

Keep yourself updated!

You might also like…

Recently watched